The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences under the College of Health Sciences, University of Uyo was established in 2002, as an integral part of the Medical School.

The pioneer Dean of the Faculty was Professor Akintola Aboderin, followed by Professor Offiong U. Eka, Professor Ekaete U. I. Etuk and Professor Enomfon J. Akpan.
The Departments within the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences are as follows:
i) Department of Anatomy
ii) Department of Biochemistry; and
iii) Department of Physiology
The faculty offers
(B.Sc) – Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology

Visit Faculty official website or Journal Site

Vision Statement

To be a centre of academic excellence by utilizing the available human and technological resources for teaching, research, community service and sustainable development.

Mission Statement

To diligently pursue scholarship and deploy its output for human capacity development and economic growth in the society, with active participation in ICT.