Faculty of Law


The Faculty of Law, University of Uyo, started in October 1985 as a Department in the Faculty of Social Sciences of the then University of Cross River State. It took over the staff and students of the former Ime Umanah College of Law, Abak in Akwa Ibom State.

In 1986, it became a full fledged Faculty. In October 1987, the Faculty moved to Ikot Osurua campus, the site now occupied by the Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic. In 1989, the Faculty graduated its first batch of students who thereafter proceeded to Nigerian Law School and were called to Bar Examinations.

The Faculty is accredited by the National Universities Commission and by the Council of Legal Education, the body charged with Legal Education in Nigeria. Since 1989, the students from the Faculty have been admitted every year into the Nigerian Law School and have been doing very well.
The faculty offers
(LLB) – Law

As required by the national Universities Commission (NUC), the Faculty offers courses and programmes leading to the degree of Bachelor of Laws (LL.B).

The duration is a 5-year standard programme for students with Senior Secondary Certificate (SSCE) or General Certificate in Education (GCE) O’ Level or equivalent.

However, Direct Entry candidates are admitted into year two of the programme, but they may still be required to do some of the year one courses to be able to graduate.
The Faculty in Collaboration with the postgraduate School (PG School) also offers Master of Laws (LL.M) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) Programmes in Law.

Visit Faculty official website or Journal Site

Vision Statement

To be a centre of academic excellence by utilizing the available human and technological resources for teaching, research, community service and sustainable development.

Mission Statement

To diligently pursue scholarship and deploy its output for human capacity development and economic growth in the society, with active participation in ICT.