Graduates of Class 1999/2000, Department of Computer Science, University of Uyo, have offered scholarship to four students and conferred award of recognition on three lecturers of the Department of Computer Science. The award of scholarship and recognition which was aimed at encouraging healthy rivalry and competition in the academic excellence came up on Thursday, May 4,2023 at Council Chamber, University of Uyo.

The scholarship recipients who were selected from 200 level to 500 leve l emerged by the possession of highest CGPA while the lecturers got selected by poll. The Scholarship recipients: Onwuggambe Samuel Ekene of 200 Level has 4.33 C.G.P.A; Donatus William Enobong of 300 Level possesses 4.39 C.G.P.A; Eddy AbasiAda Nnabuk get s 3.91 C.G.P.A while Alexander Godwin Ereremena possesses 4.65 C.G.P.A. Presenting the award of scholarship and recognition, Comrade Nkekere Udom declared that Class 1999/2000 of Computer Science was immensely appreciative of tutelage, stressing that the sound knowledge imparted by University of Uyo is a vehicle which keeps them moving across the globe.

The spokesperson for Class 1999/2000 disclosed that Department of Computer Science had instilled into their lives the requisite knowledge to power all sec tors of the world. He further stated that the world is digitalized through knowledge of computer from which University of Uyo produced them. Comrade Udom mentioned that almost all the eighty graduates of class 1999/2000 in Department of Computer Science h ave contributed a meaningful quota to the development of economy and technology worldwide.

Comrade Nkekere Udom emphasized that giving back to the institution which made them admiring figures in the community is very important. He submitted that the class is ready to partner with University of Uyo in making students realize their dreams with a view to promoting the name of the university in the world over. Comrade Udom appreciated Vice Chancellor, Professor Nyaudoh Ndaeyo who afforded the class an ample opportunity to contribute to academic competition in the university. The President, University of Uyo Alumni Association, Rt. Hon. Onofiok Luke congratulated alumni of the University on occupying various helms of affairs with topnotch performance across the g lobe. He said that the graduates of University of Uyo are proud of the university as many have occupied seats of Governor, Lawmakers, Vice Chancellor, Registrar and a host of others. Rt. Hon. Barrister Onofiok Luke declared that holding the higher position s globally by the University of Uyo’s graduates is rewarding.

The onetime Speaker, Akwa Ibom House of Assembly stressed that sustainability of academic excellence of the institution remains paramount to all well meaning graduates of the university. He applauded Class 1999/2000 Computer Science for the commitment of offering scholarship to coolheaded students, adding that the gesture would promote competition of academic excellence.

Also, Rt. Hon Onofiok Luke commended Class 1999/2000 Computer Science for appreciating their tutors when alive. He declared that rewards of teachers must not be only awarded in heaven but also from the earth surface. However, the Alumni President beseeched the organisers of the scholarship and recognition award to extend their kind gesture to other programmes of the association by supporting the ongoing projects sponsored by the association in the university. He noted that it is fundamental that each graduate of the institution shares in the global vision of Alumni Association poised to raising the University to a greater height. Rt. Hon Onofiok Luke pledged unalloyed support of Alumni towards successful administration of Professor Nyaudoh Ndaeyo.

Responding, the Vice Chancellor, University of Uyo, Professor Nyaudoh Ndaeyo disclosed that scholarship as well as teachers’ reward is a veritable tool to education competition in academic environment. He noted that when the tools are deployed, the standard of education will definitely improve. Professor Ndaeyo implored the organisers of the award not to relent in their efforts of investing into quality education. The Vice Chancellor charged other graduated sets of the University to emulate the good gesture, noting that, University of Uyo is a brand whose protection is a collective responsibility of all and sundry. Professor Ndaeyo commended the 1999/ 2000 Computer Science Class for celebrating their tutors while alive.

Giving response on behalf of awardees, Professor Olutayo Boyinbode said the award was a signal that all lecturers must maintain good relationship with students, bearing in mind that nothing good done is unnoticed and unrewarded. Earlier, Head, Department of Computer Science, Dr. Uduak George welcomed the graduates of 1999/2000 to their Alma Mater. She lauded the class for deeming it fit to appreciate brilliant performance of the students through scholarship. She also commended the organisers for appreciating the effort of their teachers.

Scholarship recipients were Onwuggambe Samuel Ekene, Donatus William Enobong, Eddy Abasilecturerawardee Ada Nnabuk, and Alexander Godwin Ereremena while s were Professor S.A Sani, Dr. Ubon Abasiekwere, Olutayo Boyinbode. In attendance with the Vice-Chancellor were: The Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Anthony Udoh; Registrar, Mrs. Blossom Okorie; University Librarian, Dr. Uduakobong Udoh; Dean of Faculty of Science, Prof. Joseph Essien; and Head of the ViceChancellor’s Office, Mr. Edet Affia .